Materials Science

SOCMA re-elects Executive Committee and names new Board of Governors


he Society of Chemical Manufactuers and Affiliates (SOCMA) Board of Governors re-elected officers and its executive committee, and the membership elected five new governors to the Class of 2020 at the association's 96th Annual Business Meeting on Monday, December 4, in New York City.

David Doles, Vice President and Head of the Business Unit for Materials Performance and Protection at Lonza, was re-elected as Chairman of the Board and welcomed the new members. "This is a fantastic group of governors who are coming on board during an exciting time of change and transformation at SOCMA," said Doles. "As we begin implementation of our new segmentation model in the coming year, we will look to these new governors to share their insight and industry expertise to help guide us in enhancing our association's products and services to better meet the needs of the specialty and fine chemical industry."

"These new governors are joining an outstanding group of seasoned officers and board members," Doles said. "These talented and innovative individuals have been a part of our association for many years and provide invaluable knowledge of the industry. I look forward to the fresh perspective our new class of governors will bring to our existing board, and I especially look forward to what the new year holds for SOCMA and our industry."

Members of the Class of 2020 include:

  • Keith Arnold, MFG Chemicals
  • Sandy Cernick, Siegfried USA
  • Greg Gibson, Synalloy Chemicals
  • Ron Kreis, Bimax
  • Ed Price, PCI Synthesis

Ronald Lehman, General Manager of Solvay Novecare US, will also serve the remainder of a term, replacing his Solvay colleague, Arienne Brint, who is stepping down from the Board at the end of 2017.

SOCMA officers elected for one-year terms:

  • 1st Vice Chairman – Gene Williams, Optima Chemical Group
  • 2nd Vice Chairman and Treasurer – Michael Ott – Polysciences
  • Secretary – Kate Donahue – Hampford Research
  • Member-at-Large – John Foley – KMCO
  • Immediate Past Chair – J. Steel Hutchinson, GFS Chemicals.

SOCMA's Board of Governors provides strategic direction, maintains fiscal responsibility and helps deliver member value.